• Helping Kids Rise

Must Read Children's Books About Elections, Politics, and Civic Engagement

Updated: Oct 28


Disclosure: this post contains affiliate links


Every four years the Presidential Election gets a lot of shine and rightfully so since it's an important election. There are a lot of other smaller, local elections that happen other times throughout the years that are equally as important. These elections are for staffing local school boards, mayors, governors, and other local and statewide positions. It's imperative that we pay attention to these elections as well. Teaching children about the election process, our government, and politics in general prepares and motivates them to take an active part in making sure our country uphold the life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness that it promises everyone. We encourage you to read one or two or all these books and PLEASE EXERCISE YOUR RIGHT TO VOTE.


"A democracy cannot thrive where power remains unchecked and justice is reserved for a select few. Ignoring these cries and failing to respond to this movement is simply not an option — for peace cannot exist where justice is not served." Congressman John Lewis



A fun, sturdy novelty board book with 13 sliding doors


Toddlers will love casting their vote as they slide-and-vote in everyday situations like striped or polka dot socks in the morning, vanilla or chocolate ice cream at snack time, and many more exciting choices every kid faces throughout the day.


This sturdy board book is a great way to encourage toddlers to always cast their votes, despite how ordinary or tiny the decision may seem.

Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon






V Is for Voting is an ABC book that introduces progressive families to concepts like social justice and civil rights and reminds readers that every vote counts!

A is for active participation.

B is for building a more equal nation.

C is for citizens' rights and our duty.

D is for difference, our strength and our beauty.


An engaging introduction to the tenets of democracy, V Is for Voting is a playful, poetic, and powerful primer about the importance of voting and activism. Featuring Kate Farrell's rhyming text and Caitlin Kuhwald's bold art, plus thoughtful back matter, the book is a gorgeous, and crucial, addition to every young reader's library. It makes the perfect gift for fans of A Is for Activist, Woke Baby, and Feminist Baby.

Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon




A right isn't right

till it's granted to all...


The founders of the United States declared that consent of the governed was a key part of their plan for the new nation. But for many years, only white men of means were allowed to vote. This unflinching and inspiring history of voting rights looks back at the activists who answered equality's call, working tirelessly to secure the right for all to vote, and it also looks forward to the future and the work that still needs to be done.


Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon






See the U.S. Constitution in a new light with this bold, modern and accessible illustrated guide to the document that helped define democracy.


Inquisitive minds will have their questions vividly answered - and new ones raised - by a mix of striking illustrations and clear, engaging text, including passages from the Constitution given in plain English.


As well as a detailed history covering the original Constitution, the Bill of Rights and all Amendments, discover how this milestone in American democracy shapes and is shaped by the world at large. We The People shows that, far from a fusty old piece of paper, the U.S. Constitution is a living, evolving rule book that is as relevant today as it has ever been.


Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon





Every two years, on the first Tuesday of November, Stanton Elementary School closes for the day.


For vacation? Nope! For repairs? No way! Stanton Elementary School closes so that it can transform itself into a polling station. People can come from all over to vote for the people who will make laws for the country. Sure, the Stanton Elementary School students might be too young to vote themselves, but that doesn't mean they can't encourage their parents, friends, and family to vote! After all, voting is how this country sees change--and by voting today, we can inspire tomorrow's voters to change the future.


Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon








Imagine starring in commercials and traveling in your own campaign bus Or seeing your face on bumper stickers and T-shirts If you ran for president, you would get to do these and other fun things, but you would also have to do a lot of hard work. You would study the nation's problems, tell the American people about your platform, select a running mate, and debate your opponents on live television. Finally, in November, Election Day would arrive. You would keep your fingers crossed and wait for the results--will you be the next president of the United States?


A multicultural cast of children imagines what it would be like to run for president. The entertaining yet informative text is a good conversation starter for discussions on the election process. A note about this process accompanies the story.

Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon






"Where are the girls?"


When Grace's teacher reveals that the United States has never had a female president, Grace decides she wants to be the nation's first and immediately jumpstarts her political career by running in her school's mock election! The race is tougher than she expected: her popular opponent declares that he's the "best man for the job" and seems to have captured the votes of all of the class's boys. But Grace is more determined than ever. Even if she can't be the best man for the job, she can certainly try to be the best person!


This timely story not only gives readers a fun introduction to the American electoral system but also teaches the value of hard work, courage, independent thought -- and offers an inspiring example of how to choose our leaders.


Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon




Wave your flags! It's time to vote! Election Day is right around the corner in the latest big moment to be celebrated in Natasha Wing's best-selling series.


Yes! It's almost here. And the big question is: Who will be our next president? Will our leader be a he or a she? A young citizen gives her take on politics and Election Day in this charming story (featuring a colorful sticker sheet!), told in the style of Clement C. Moore's holiday poem.


Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon







Even as a young child growing up in the 1920s, Shirley Chisholm was a leader. At the age of three, older children were already following her lead in their Brooklyn neighborhood.

As a student at Brooklyn College, Shirley could out talk anyone who opposed her on the debate team. After graduating, she used her voice and leadership to fight for educational change. In community groups, she stood up for the rights of women and minorities. Her small stature and fiery determination often took people by surprise. But they listened.

In 1964, Shirley took her voice and leadership to politics, becoming the first Black woman elected to the New York State Assembly, and in 1968, the first Black woman elected to Congress. Then in 1972, she became the first Black woman to seek the presidency of the United States. She pushed for laws that helped women, children, students, poor people, farm workers, Native people, and others who were often ignored. She fought for healthcare. She spoke up for military veterans. She spoke out against war.

Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon



Just in time for the 2020 election, the bestselling chapter book series continues with the newest Questioneer, Sofia Valdez


Miss Lila Greer announces it's time for Grade Two to get a class pet, and she wants the kids to participate in choosing which one. After all, they will all have to share the responsibility of caring for it. The class narrows it down to two options: Team Turtle and Team Bird. Sofia is named Election Commissioner, in charge of overseeing a fair and honest election between the two teams. There's a class-wide campaign, complete with posters, articles, and speeches. Then it's time for the election! But when the votes are counted, there's a tie, and one vote is missing. How will the class break the tie? And what happened to the vanishing vote? It's up to Sofia Valdez and the Questioneers to restore democracy!


Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon









An elderly African American woman, en route to vote, remembers her family's tumultuous voting history in this picture book publishing in time for the fiftieth anniversary of the Voting Rights Act of 1965.


As Lillian, a one-hundred-year-old African American woman, makes a "long haul up a steep hill" to her polling place, she sees more than trees and sky--she sees her family's history. She sees the passage of the Fifteenth Amendment and her great-grandfather voting for the first time. She sees her parents trying to register to vote. And she sees herself marching in a protest from Selma to Montgomery. Veteran bestselling picture-book author Jonah Winter and Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner Shane W. Evans vividly recall America's battle for civil rights in this lyrical, poignant account of one woman's fierce determination to make it up the hill and make her voice heard.


Purchase: Bookshop or Amazon





Your turn! Which books would you add to this list? Let us know.



Looking for more great books?

Join our community of almost 20,000 BOOK LOVERS on Instagram.


Tap the phone below to follow and discover great books.








  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
0