top of page
HelpingKidsRise Childrens Books Diverse.png

Diverse Books For All Ages

A great selection of books for families, educators, and the community

  • Helping Kids Rise

Sweet Children's Books About Aging, Memory Loss, and Embracing Change

Updated: Jan 13

Disclosure: this post contains affiliate links


As elders grow older, it's important to help children understand the multitude of changes that can come with aging. These picture books remind readers to hold on to the love, joy, and connection that still exists despite the changes that aging can bring. (Complete with publisher's descriptions.)


A young girl undertakes an impossible trip to the moon, makes friends with the stars, and brings back something priceless in this gentle and lyrically told picture book about family, history, and memory.


Grana used to tell the best stories, and Mable used to long to soar through the heavens. Nowadays, Grana mostly lies in bed and Mable stays close to home.


But one day, Grana asks, "If we can touch the moon, then what is impossible?"


So Mable decides to do just that, embarking on a journey through the stars where The Seven Sistahs, The Big Dipper, and other constellations help her on her quest and teach her about African mythology and African American history. With the support of her new companions, Mable reaches for her biggest dream yet: to make her sick grandma well again.


FIND IT ON: BOOKSHOP


A stunning picture book debut, showcasing the love between grandparents and grandchildren, the challenges of memory loss, and the joy that sweet reminders of a faraway home can bring, from award-winning, bestselling author Thanhhà Lại.


This sweet and emotional picture book will resonate with readers who love A Big Mooncake for Little Star, Ladder to the Moon, and Thank You, Omu!


An's grandmother Bà sometimes gets trapped in her cloudy memories. An and her grandfather, Ông, come up with a plan to bring her back to a happy moment: they grow gấc fruits so they can make xôi gấc, Bà's favorite dish from her wedding in Việt Nam many years ago.


An and Ông work together in the garden, nurturing the gấc seeds. They must be patient and wait for the seeds to grow, flower, and turn into fruit. When the xôi gấc is finally ready, An is hopeful that her grandmother will remember her wedding wish with Ông: hundred years of happiness.

Striking and vivid illustrations bring this tender story of a loving, intergenerational Vietnamese family to life.

FIND IT ON: BOOKSHOP


Grandpa says circles are all around us. He points to the rainbow that rises high in the sky after a thundercloud has come.


Can you see? That's only half of the circle. That rest of it is down below, in the earth.


He and his granddaughter meditate on gardens and seeds, on circles seen and unseen, inside and outside us, on where our bodies come from and where they return to.


They share and create family traditions in this stunning audio adaptation of the Pura Belpre award-winning exploration of the cycles of life and nature.


FIND IT ON: BOOKSHOP


A young girl in the Philippines uses music to connect with her grandmother as her memory fades in this warm and moving picture book perfect for fans of Pixar's Coco.


There is always singing in Lola's house. Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning, Dean Martin in the afternoon, and all throughout the evening, old Tagalog love songs from Nora Aunor, Basil Valdez, and more. Lola always says: "If you want to hold on, you gotta sing your songs."


Her granddaughter tucks these sounds and Lola's wisdom deep within her heart. And when Lola starts slipping into silence and stillness, she helps Lola hold on, piece by piece, with the joy and music that Lola taught her.


FIND IT ON: BOOKSHOP


To everything there is a season in this beautiful story about gardening, seasons, and treasured memories.


This inspiring picture book written by Zoë Tucker and illustrated by Julianna Swaney--the #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator of We Are the Gardeners by Joanna Gaines--celebrates the friendship between a young girl and an elderly woman as they plant seeds in a community garden alongside friends and neighbors, waiting for the seeds to flower.


By mid-summer, the friends welcome a rainbow of color in the garden and picnics in the sun.


At harvest, the young girl's elderly friend is bed-ridden, but jubilant as they share baskets with red tomatoes and snap peas amid the sweet smell of lavender. When the last leaves fall, everything is different. But in the spring, hope arises anew.


FIND IT ON: BOOKSHOP


A heartwarming bilingual picture book about a young boy who learns to accept that Abuela needs to retire her super capa.


Saturdays are superhero days. Equipped with their milkshakes and capas, Luis and his abuela can turn anything into an adventure.

But when Abuela gets sick, Luis has to learn a new way to be a hero. With some help from his sister, Luis learns that change isn't all that bad and there are many new adventures to have, even if they look a little different.


Perfect for families experiencing sickness and loss, this engaging multigenerational story will help young children find the language to express their feelings and adjust to change. Simultaneously published in Spanish: La supercapa de Abuela (January 17, 2023)


FIND IT ON: BOOKSHOP


 

MORE BOOKS IN BOOKSHOP:


VIDEO READ ALOUD

Author Breanna J. McDaniel reads aloud from Impossible Moon. A young girl undertakes an impossible trip to the moon, makes friends with the stars, and brings back something priceless in this gentle and lyrically told picture book about family, history, and memory.


 

Looking for more great books?

Join our community of almost 30,000 BOOK LOVERS on Instagram.


Tap the phone below to follow and discover great books.







bottom of page