top of page
HelpingKidsRise Childrens Books Diverse.png

Diverse Books For All Ages

A great selection of books for families, educators, and the community

  • Helping Kids Rise

10 Children's Books About Kwanzaa (+ Video Read Aloud)

Updated: Jan 13

Disclosure: this post contains affiliate links


Kwanzaa is a celebration created by Maulana Karenga that honors African American culture and is observed December 26 - January 1, culminating in a feast and gift giving. This list of children's books can facilitate meaningful discussions about Kwanzaa and African American history.


It's the end of December, and it's that time of year!


Light the candles on the kinara! Fly the bendera, and listen to stories from Africa. Bake some tasty benne cakes and make a colorful cow tale switch! It's time for the festival of Kwanzaa. BOOKSHOP






From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Ibi Zoboi comes her debut picture book--a tour de force that uses the principles of Kwanzaa to talk about the history of African Americans. This lyrical, powerful tribute is sumptuously illustrated by New Yorker artist and rising star Loveis Wise. A beautiful gift for readers of all ages and for fans of Kadir Nelson's Heart and Soul. A Coretta Scott King Honor Book!

The People Remember tells the journey of African descendants in America by connecting their history to the seven principles of Kwanzaa. It begins in Africa, where people were taken from their homes and families. They spoke different languages and had different customs.

Yet they were bound and chained together and forced onto ships sailing into an unknown future. Ultimately, all these people had to learn one common language and create a culture that combined their memories of home with new traditions that enabled them to thrive in this new land.

Sumptuously illustrated, this is an important book to read as a family--a story young readers can visit over and over again to deepen their understanding of African American history in relation to their own lives and current social justice movements. By turns powerful and revealing, this is a lyrical narrative that tells the story of survival, as well as the many moments of joy, celebration, and innovation of Black people in America. BOOKSHOP


Kevin's family is celebrating the seven days of Kwanzaa!

Kevin helps his mom decorate the Kwanzaa table. They light candles with Grandma and Grandpa and learn a special word each day. They talk about working together and solving problems. On the sixth day, everyone eats and dances at a big feast!

It's time to celebrate! Learn how and why fall and winter holidays are celebrated through the eyes of a young narrator. These nonfiction picture books feature kid-friendly text and illustrations to make learning fun!

BOOKSHOP


Describes the origins and practices of Kwanzaa, the seven-day festival during which people of African descent rejoice in their ancestral values


BOOKSHOP








Celebrate Kwanzaa continues the spectacular Holidays Around the World series by focusing on this African-American holiday, which falls during the festive, gift-giving season and is celebrated by families, communities, and schools throughout America. With succinct, lively text and beautiful photographs, the book celebrates African-American culture and helps us to understand and appreciate this special holiday.


Over the course of seven days, African Americans, families and friends, come together to light the candles that symbolize their past and future--and their unity. They gather as a community to make music and to dance; to feast on harvest foods and the good things of the earth; and to exchange simple, often homemade, gifts. Readers are introduced to the symbols of the holiday, such as the mkeka (a special placemat), kinara (candleholder), and kikombe cha umoja (unity cup). Important concepts, like the seven principles, are explained. In addition, a note from the book's consultant, aimed at parents and teachers, puts the holiday in its full cultural and historical perspective.

BOOKSHOP


In an African village live seven brothers who make family life miserable with their constant fighting. When their father dies, he leaves an unusual will: by sundown, the brothers must make gold out of seven spools of thread. If they fail, they will be turned out as beggars.


Using the Nguzo Saba, or seven principles of Kwanzaa, the author has created an unforgettable story that shows how family members can pull together, for their own good and the good of the entire community. Magnificent and inspiring linoleum block prints by Daniel Minter bring joy to this Kwanzaa celebration.

BOOKSHOP


Kwanzaa is Kayla’s favorite time of year. But this year, it looks as if a heavy snowstorm will keep her big brother, Khari, from getting home in time for the festivities!


Will Khari miss the celebration completely? Or will Kayla and her brother somehow find a way to be together for Kwanzaa? A perfect introduction to Kwanzaa, this book will teach children all about the traditions and practices that make it a special winter holiday. BOOKSHOP


Hear the words, sing the songs, dance to the beat, and shout "Harambee!" as you jump into this joyful celebration of the sounds of Kwanzaa!


The sound is Umoja--bringing us together.

The sound is Kuumba--the songs of our ancestors.

The sound is Kwanzaa!


Lively verse and colorful illustrations guide you through the seven principles of this festive holiday. All you have to do is come close, gather round, and discover what Kwanzaa is all about! BOOKSHOP


Celebrates the joyful holiday, Kwanzaa, telling the story of the holiday through the letters of the alphabet, beginning with "A is for Africa/B is for Bendera/C is for Candle."


By the creator of the Little Red Plane. BOOKSHOP









Share this Kwanzaa story with your family or in the classroom. Very bright, playful, textured pictures capture the spirit of community that is the essence of the holiday. The two final pages about 'The Nguzo Saba--The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa' will take kids back to the story to find the holiday message in action. (Booklist)


The story of Li'l Rabbit captures the true meaning of Kwanzaa--coming together to help others. Donna L. Washington's story, with art from Shane W. Evans (Chocolate Me!), provides a fun introduction to the holiday.

Li'l Rabbit is not having a very good Kwanzaa. Granna Rabbit is sick, and so his family won't celebrate his favorite part of Kwanzaa this year: a big feast called Karamu.

Li'l Rabbit knows what to do! He'll find Granna Rabbit a special treat for Karamu so she can celebrate anyway.

He looks under a pile of logs, in the field, and in the pond and along the way meets Groundhog, Momma Field Mouse, and the frogs--but he doesn't find anything for Granna Rabbit.

Maybe I'm just too little to help Granna Rabbit celebrate Kwanzaa, Li'l Rabbit thinks. Or maybe he just needs a little help from his family and friends. BOOKSHOP


VIDEO READ ALOUD

New York Times bestselling author Ibi Zoboi reads her debut picture book, THE PEOPLE REMEMBER, with illustrations by Loveis Wise.


Buy children's books online

bottom of page