HelpingKidsRise Childrens Books Diverse.png

Diverse Books For All Ages

A great selection of books for families, educators, and the community

  • Helping Kids Rise

Who Are Your People? An Uplifting Story that Encourages Readers to Dream Big (+Video)

Updated: Feb 28


Disclosure: this post contains affiliate links



Title: Who Are Your People?

Publisher: Quill Tree Books

Recommended Grades: PK-3

Where to order: Bookshop Here

Published: January 11, 2022



Book Description


This inspiring picture book by New York Times bestselling author Bakari Sellers is a tribute to the family and community that help make us who we are. Perfect for sharing and gifting.


When you meet someone for the first time, they might ask, Who are your people? and Where are you from?


Children are shaped by their ancestors, and this book celebrates the village it takes to raise a child.

In the vein of I Am Enough and Eyes That Kiss in the Corners, this powerful picture book with beautiful illustrations by Reggie Brown is a joyful recognition of the people and places that help define young readers and adults alike.


Thoughts


Who Are Your People? doesn't shy away from the hard to look at parts of history and instead uses it as an opportunity to celebrate the resilience and strength of the people who overcame those difficult times. Simple, easy to follow text is married with gorgeous imagery that brings the story and the reader's imagination to life. When asked in an interview with Publisher's Weekly what he wants readers to take away from the book, Sellers says he wants readers to dream.


"I want readers, especially young people, to dream. I want them to dream new dreams and be able to dream big dreams. I hope their parents are inspired to dream themselves when they read the book to children or watch them read this book, and to usher in a new generation of leaders for today." Bakari Sellers



















(Author) Bakari Sellers made history in 2006 when, at just twenty-two years old, he defeated a twenty-six-year incumbent State Representative to become the youngest member of the South Carolina state legislature and the youngest African American elected official in the nation. In 2014 he was the Democratic Nominee for Lieutenant Governor in the state of South Carolina. Sellers is a CNN political analyst and served in the South Carolina state legislature. He is also a practicing attorney who fights to give a voice to the voiceless. Find him here.






(Illustrator) Reggie Brown loves drawing vivid scenes of Black children and families that include expressive, unforgettable characters that make children and adults want to read and re-read those stories. Reggie also has a passion for stories with genres like fantasy, superheroes, and science-fiction. When Reggie isn't drawing, he loves exploring San Diego, California, watching anime, and hanging out with his wife Demi and min pin Bruce. Find him here.










 

Looking for more great books?

Join our community of over 20,000 BOOK LOVERS on Instagram.

Tap the phone below to follow and discover great books.