• Helping Kids Rise

This Is My America Explores The Racist Injustices In The American Justice System



Disclosure: this post contains affiliate links



Title: This Is My America

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Recommended Grades: 7-9

Where to order: Bookshop Here



Book Description


The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.


Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time--her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy's older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a "thug" on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town's racist history that still haunt the present?


Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won't want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.



Thoughts


Disclaimer: we're currently reading This is my America, but so far, we're loving it. We haven't finished the book yet, but we're already hooked. We'll share our final thoughts over on our social media pages, so make sure you're following us.


Resources


The publishers of This Is My America have created a Discussion Guide for the book. Click the link below to download it for free. Visit the publisher's page (here) for more info about the author and to find other valuables resources.

Download Here





Looking for more great books?

Join our community of almost 20,000 BOOK LOVERS on Instagram.


Tap the phone below to follow and discover great books.








  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
0